Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Major Entrance Scholarship recipients

2019 recipients of Ontario Tech University's Major Scholarships.

From left: Thomas Dick, Muhammad Rana, Zachary Wood, Ontario Tech University President Steven Murphy, Jessica Leishman, Carter Metcalf, Dominique Gibson, Claire Knowles.

Each year, seven outstanding incoming students are awarded our most prestigious entrance scholarships. The scholarship program serves to recognize secondary school students with exceptional achievements in academics, leadership and community involvement throughout their high school career.

Major Entrance Scholarships

  • Chancellor’s Scholarship: One valued at $36,000 ($9,000 a year x four years)
  • President’s Scholarship: Two valued at $30,000 each ($7,500 a year x four years)
  • Founder’s Scholarship: Two valued at $24,000 each ($6,000 a year x four years)
  • FIRST Robotics Canada Scholarship: One valued at $12,000 ($3,000 a year x four years)
  • Global Leadership Award: One valued at $72,000 ($18,000 a year x four years

This year’s Chancellor’s Scholarship recipient is Claire Knowles (Medical Laboratory Science) of Comox, British Columbia. Claire chose Ontario Tech University for its unique Medical Laboratory Science program.

“I can focus on my studies instead of frantically saving and making money. Thanks to this scholarship, I will be able to get the most out of my university experience. It’s been my goal to go into medical laboratory science for a long time, and this award has put me one step closer to achieving that dream.”

This year’s President’s Scholarship recipients are Carter Metcalf (Mechatronics Engineering) of Ramara and Muhammad Rana (Kinesiology) of Pickering. Both students chose Ontario Tech for its size and location, and the strong, supportive learning environment.

“Receiving the President’s Scholarship alleviates the pressure of financing my education and allows me to focus that time and energy on my studies, my volunteer work and getting involved in the Ontario Tech community.” – Carter

“Being awarded the President’s Scholarship is very gratifying, as I feel it reflects all of the effort I have put in. This scholarship greatly eases the financial burden that comes with post-secondary education, and allows me to pursue my goals at Ontario Tech by reducing the time I need to spend pursuing employment, and increasing the time I can spend in terms of involvement in several of the clubs that Ontario Tech has to offer.”- Muhammad

This year’s Founder’s Scholarship recipients are Zachary Wood (Mechatronics Engineering) of Pontypool and Jessica Leishman (Software Engineering) of Burlington. Zachary chose Ontario Tech for its state-of-the-art engineering programs, while Jessica enjoyed the small class sizes and the one-on-one experiences of our close-knit community.

“The award will also free up my financial situation immensely. With a large portion of my tuition covered, I can now put more money aside for costs of commuting, as well as costs of various clubs and initiatives I hope to create at Ontario Tech.” – Zachary

 “Receiving this award allows me to dedicate myself to my studies and completely focus on them in this difficult program I have chosen to pursue. The support offered by this award alleviates not only the financial stress associated with completing my program—but the psychological stress too.”- Jessica

Rounding out this year’s domestic recipients is our FIRST Robotics Canada Scholarship recipient, Thomas Dick (Mechatronics Engineering) of Scarborough. Thomas is eager to begin his studies in our mechanical-based Mechatronics Engineering program in September.

“Using this award, I can cut a substantial chunk out of my tuition cost, using the additional funds to support my never-ending projects, such as my annual Christmas and Halloween technical shows.” - Thomas

This year’s international Global Leadership Award recipient is Dominique Gibson (Kinesiology) of Nassau, Bahamas. She is looking forward to joining clubs at our university to further develop her leadership skills.

My experience and contribution to the university will be one that breaks barriers and promotes the betterment of others and the university itself.” - Dominique

We are honoured that these scholarships are enabling our students’ continued success and guiding them to be exceptional in their futures. All of our award recipients work hard and these prestigious awards recognize their success. We are happy to introduce the major entrance scholarship recipients for the 2019-2020 academic year.

For information on applicant criteria for each award, visit the scholarships web page.






High school

Chancellor’s Scholarship

Claire Knowles

Health Sciences

Medical Laboratory Science

Comox, British Columbia

Highland Secondary

President’s Scholarship

Carter Metcalf

Engineering and Applied Science 

Mechatronics Engineering


Patrick Fogarty Catholic Secondary School

President’s Scholarship

Muhammad Rana

Health Sciences



Dunbarton High School

Founder’s Scholarship

Zachary Wood

Engineering and Applied Science

Mechatronics Engineering


I.E. Weldon Secondary School

Founder’s Scholarship

Jessica Leishman

Engineering and Applied Science

Software Engineering


Aldershot High School

FIRST Robotics Scholarship

Thomas Dick 

Energy Systems and Nuclear Science

Mechatronics Engineering


Mary Ward Catholic Secondary School Centre for Self-Directed Learning

Global Leadership Award

Dominique Gibson 

Health Sciences


Nassau, Bahamas

St. Augustine's College